Maintenance of Certification in Psychiatry

Article Abstract

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) developed 6 core competencies for physicians of all specialties and a maintenance of certification (MOC) program for board-certified physicians. The MOC program incorporates the 6 competencies into 4 component areas: professional standing, self-assessment and lifelong learning, cognitive expertise, and performance in practice. These 4 components are designed to promote a cycle of lifelong learning, self-assessment and peer review, and incorporation of best practices in order to improve the quality of health care in clinical practice. The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology is a member board of the ABMS and has adapted the competencies and MOC requirements for psychiatrists and neurologists.

See the entire activity.

J Clin Psychiatry 2009;70(10):e39

Volume: 70

Quick Links: Assessment , Education

Continue Reading…