This work may not be copied, distributed, displayed, published, reproduced, transmitted, modified, posted, sold, licensed, or used for commercial purposes. By downloading this file, you are agreeing to the publisher’s Terms & Conditions.

Educational Activity

Maintenance of Certification in Psychiatry

Michael H. Ebert, MD (Chair); Larry Faulkner, MD; Dorothy E. Stubbe, MD; and Daniel K. Winstead, MD

Published: October 15, 2009

This CME activity is expired. For more CME activities, visit
Find more articles on this and other psychiatry and CNS topics:
The Journal of Clinical Psychiatry
The Primary Care Companion for CNS Disorders

Article Abstract

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) developed 6 core competencies for physicians of all specialties and a maintenance of certification (MOC) program for board-certified physicians. The MOC program incorporates the 6 competencies into 4 component areas: professional standing, self-assessment and lifelong learning, cognitive expertise, and performance in practice. These 4 components are designed to promote a cycle of lifelong learning, self-assessment and peer review, and incorporation of best practices in order to improve the quality of health care in clinical practice. The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology is a member board of the ABMS and has adapted the competencies and MOC requirements for psychiatrists and neurologists.

Some JCP and PCC articles are available in PDF format only. Please click the PDF link at the top of this page to access the full text.

Volume: 70

Quick Links: